Puzzles! Puzzles! Who Love’s Puzzles????

Well, this week I thought I would try my first ever vlog!  I used screencastify to review EDpuzzle.  Actually, I really did learn a lot this week as I had to learn how to use screencastify, EDpuzzle AND upload from Google Photos to Youtube!  I know that I am no Casey Neistat, but I can’t wait to polish up my vlogging skills and add some of these into my modules.

Now to rate both screencastify and EDpuzzle:

Strengths:  

  • I love the fact that I can use a video already made with Edpuzzle – why re-invent the wheel?
  • Screencastify was super easy to use!  I also liked that there is a box where you can see the person giving the lesson at the bottom, I feel that it makes the lesson a bit more personal.
  • It is very easy to add to your own youtube channel – just make sure in google photo setting that you have the sharing set “on”.

Weaknesses:  

  • I am unsure if I would use EDpuzzle to make audio notes or voice over when using a video that does have a lot of speaking on it already.  I did note that the voice movement and sound were a little off – so if you are easily distracted by the two not matching up, this may bother you.
  • The only weakness that I have found so far with screencastify is that when you move your cursor over an area, the focus “circle” gets in the way.  Does anyone know if you can shut that off?

Potential:

  • Easy peasy to use and make quick videos for your students – think of the potential for snow days! Lol!  Honestly, this is something that I will definitely be using in my classes.

Update – I had a goal last week to have all of my students using Canvas to be comfortable with it within 5 days.  Woohoo!  Surpassed that quickly.  By the end of the first period they were navigating around the site very easily, using the discussion and collaboration components of the LSM and have been sending me documents to mark – all within this platform.  So far, so good.  Also – I have only received email contact from Canvas and no phone calls.  I did respond to the email once and have not heard anything since.  🙂 

 

Update:  I have also been directed towards another site called PlayPostit which allows you to insert questions directly into videos such as Crash Course, TedEd, Ted, etc…  This is a nice site because you can use pre-made “bulbs” (videos already created) or you can make your own.  The only things that I could not find on this site were how to upload to my own “bulb” to my YouTube channel and the search function would not allow you to really narrow your search down.  I think I like EdPuzzle better than this site, but it is nice to have options.  Check out the link below:

PlayPostit

8 thoughts on “Puzzles! Puzzles! Who Love’s Puzzles????”

  1. Great post Carla. Lots of good information here – you seem to have so much tech knowledge already 🙂 The EdPuzzle seems awesome – I look forward to trying that out. Also I think being able to add words to existing video (Playpostit) could have lots of important applications. Share for sharing these golden nuggets 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post, Carla! I love your description of the pros and cons of EdPuzzle (I had never heard of it before or used it before!), and your updates are also very pertinent. I love that you already have your students on Canvas and that it is working so well. I also have never heard of PlayPostIt, but it sounds wonderful for these types of videos! Looking forward to trying all of these things. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

