On the Road to Discovery

I am a senior science teacher and Vice Principal in a small school in Saskatchewan, Canada.  Saskatchewan

Currently, I am working on my Masters of Education degree in Curriculum and Instruction at the University of Regina.  I have taken two classes of educational technology and social media and have had that “ah-ha” moment where I realized that THIS is what I want my thesis to be on.  The “this” that I am referring to is that of the use of MOOCs within the science classroom to increase students engagement.  I still need to figure out what engagement is to look like, but have a bit of time to work through this – any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!  I am taking an xMOOC out for a test run, but feel that I am missing something – I am missing the connections with an xMOOC that I am hoping to gain in this MOOC.

This year, I would like to try working on increasing my Twitter usage, currently I tweet or re-tweet.  But I am wanting to create tweets with substance and those that allow for a flow of conversations. I have begun to use WordPress blogs in all of my science classes – all of my students are required to blog once a week and I have moved from a paper based class towards a blog posted, online learning platform class.

1 thought on “On the Road to Discovery”

Leave a Reply

