Here a MOOC, There a MOOC, Everywhere a MOOC MOOC…

cow

https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/

Well, it is that time in the semester where we all are feverishly trying to figure out what our major project for this class will be about; what we will choose to work on and study throughout this course.  This semester, I have decided to focus on MOOCs.  I was a bit confused on MOOCs last semester, and really did not “get it” until I attended an #etmooc in which Alec and Katia were part of last week.  BOOM!!!  I get it now 🙂

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

I want to explore the idea and nature of study within open education!  I find this to be a very validating and personal topic.  I am not the type of teacher whom keeps all learning plans to themselves, I like to share and receive feedback from colleagues whom are teaching the same, or a similar course of study.  I like when another educator says to me “Hey, I adapted the assignment you lent to me and did ***** with it, and it turned out great”.  FANTASTIC!  Now, I have continued my learning and have gathered ideas from that colleague to put into my knapsack of knowledge, so to speak.  I like to engage in conversation with educators about what they are doing in their classrooms and why their practices are effective.  If a practice/activity is not being effective, I like to learn from that situation and have conversations with other individuals in similar positions as myself in regards as to how to remedy the situation.  Learning from self and others! But more importantly, I want to begin studying how MOOCs can be utilized to increase engagement of 21 Century students within our classrooms.

Photo credit:  http://blog.commarts.wisc.edu/wp-content/uploads/2013/03/MOOCbetterwordbubble.png

So, what is a MOOC?  Simply put, a MOOC is a massive open online course.  Anyone can take them!  You do not have to fit into an “age demographic” to take a course, although from the initial research I have been reading it seems as though MOOC students generally seem to be “older” (not students from our classrooms).  Did you know that MOOCs are free to participate in?  Well, quite a few of them are!   I really like the idea of connecting with other learners regardless of geographical locations (networking), time constraints (you work on a MOOC at your own pace within time periods for each module), accessible, participatory, independence, and open communication – connecting with others whom have similar interests as myself as life long learners.  Below, David Cormier (Rhizomatic Learning),  describes a MOOC in an easy to understand short video.

I have chosen to enroll in a MOOC this semester to really gain a first hand experience of what a MOOC looks like, feels like as a student, how it allows for connectivity and open education, and, because I am a science teacher, I wanted to explore my evolution as a learner through this type of learning medium.  The MOOC that I am currently enrolled in is offered by Stanford University and has a focus “Reading to Learn in Science”.  I just joined this MOOC last night, and the MOOC began two weeks ago (better late than never – another advantage of a MOOC) therefore I am a wee bit behind, but will catch up by the end of the week.

I am wondering if anyone has had experience with a MOOC before, and what what the outcome?

 

 

3 thoughts on “Here a MOOC, There a MOOC, Everywhere a MOOC MOOC…”

  1. I haven’t had any experience with MOOC’s, but I would like to try one out sometime. Looking forward to following along and seeing how things work out for you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

