Start Your Engines

20983629363_f67eed4148_m
Photo Credit: Raphaël Belly Photography via Compfight cc

I have expanded the due date on my students science fair projects – they were just needing more time to complete at the level in which I expect from my students, this means that my students will finish their blogs after this project is due – which isn’t idea, but I will make it work.  I have expanded my quest of blogging to all of my classes because I have begun to feel very comfortable with this process throughout the semester.  This is a good thing because I can see myself using blogs from here on out, and collecting less paper!  I have asked all students to create one blog instead of multiple blog posts for major projects (science fair, SDS, etc…) – although students could just hyperlink their blogs, the students felt comfortable with editing one long blog post and I am fine with this.  My students have stated that one long blog post feels more like handing in their scientific papers, the feeling I had with this discussion is that the students do not like their work (especially because it is one large project) chopped up into smaller pieces.  I wonder if they felt that their work did not have a flow if it was hyper-linked?  This is something that I will need to explore further with the students.

In order to accommodate and have a completed blog post  before the end of this class, I have asked my student to blog their race car project and to have this blog emulate what their science fair projects would look like (I asked Josi and Kelsey for their permission first before I posted the link).  I have also asked my students to begin using Twitter – one more social media way to discover digital citizenship within our class, follow us @cooperscience1.  I have explained to the students that they will need to post videos of their projects to Twitter and hyperlink them into their blogs.  We have had a lot of fun with Twitter this week and I am happy to report that all of my students are on Twitter now (I actually decided to go with Twitter and get rid of Remind). Students have been posting thoughts and links to informative sites regarding the topics we are currently covering in class.  I have given each class it’s own # therefore making it easier for us to only look at our posts when we are discussing what we have been posting.

I have taken advice from several websites and blogs from teachers whom have implemented blogs into a science class before.  I found the site Top 50 Science Teacher Blogs to be very helpful in regards to blogging in general.  The article 4 Powerful Ways to Implement Blogging in the Classroom (Daily Genius, April 23, 2015) gave links to examples of students blogging labs and group projects.

1 thought on “Start Your Engines”

Leave a Reply

